yesterday ,I was fasting to make up some of the days I missed in Ramadan and my mom prepared a dessert for us where she used store bought dough, which I never buy myself because I doubt that some of the ingredients might be haram. I would also never eat anything I doubt, so I was eating it unknowingly and even when I found out I finished the piece that I was eating even though I had my doubts. Did I sin in doing so and does this affect my fast for that day because I might’ve consumed something haram? Thank you.
All praise be to Allah and may His peace and blessings be on His final messenger, Muhammad.
I commend you for your pious caution and scrupulosity. However, regarding this particular issue, I feel that this may be bordering on excessiveness. The companions of the Prophet were simpler, and, as authentically reported by Abu Dawood, when they went to Persia, they ate the cheese of the Zoroastrians, while knowing it is made of the enzymes extracted from the animals they eat, which are not lawful for us to consume. They did that because those enzymes are used in trivial amounts that should be exempt. While we should be careful with meats, things like dough may be presumed halal unless there is a good reason to think otherwise.
Allah says in reference to the Messenger (pbuh),
“وما أنا من المتكلفين”
“And I am not of those who are mutakallifeen (excessive/superfluous/hyper-technical).”
Allah knows best.